What is this blog about?

What is this blog about?

It’s about everything that brings me happiness and the chance to share it with you! So, click away- I hope you discover something wonderful today!

“Whoever is happy will make others happy too. He who has courage and faith will never perish in misery.” ~Anne Frank

I don’t know about you, but I have spent a lot of moments looking forward to the next best thing in my life, and it is finally hitting me that there are a lot of shining moments that I could be soaking up right here, right now. Let me tell you what it took for me to figure this out…

When I finished college and got to read whatever I wanted (I honestly never wanted to read before college-YIKES!), I picked up a book that my HR co-workers were reading (I was a temporary employee wanting to make an impression and take my career to the next level) called Delivering Happiness, by Tony Hsieh, CEO of Zappos, and was hooked on happiness. I read and listened to anything I could get my hands on relating to positive psychology and the science of happiness (this is real science, people!). You can see a list of the books I found and love HERE. I knew down deep that I wanted to be REALLY happy, and that with a little fine tuning of my attitude, I could learn to make small changes in my daily life to be more positive for my sake and for the sake of everyone around me (especially my husband and kids).

One concept I learned about early on is “Flow.” Flow is when you get so caught up in what you are doing that you actually lose track of your time and place and feel a sense of relaxation and control (not to be confused with “la-la land”). I’m sure you have experienced this incredible feeling of being “in the zone” when you are doing what you do best. I myself have felt this way at times doing hair (I used to be a hairstylist), running, working on homework, and now, recently, in my new-found passion, painting (among other things). When I find flow, I want more flow!

Another concept I learned was about making each day count and being grateful for what I have before asking for more. I have a favorite quote (inspirational quotes make me VERY happy, as do PARENTHESES and punctuation!!! It’s my blog and I’ll do what I want to…) which I first saw printed on the syllabus of my college marketing class:

“I have been given this day to use as I will, I can waste it or use it for good. What I do today is important because I am exchanging a day of my life for it. When tomorrow comes this day will be gone forever, leaving in its place something I have traded for it. I want it to be a gain, not a loss; good, not evil; success, not failure in order that I shall not regret the price I have paid for it.” ~author unknown

Here are some of my other favorite quotes:

IMG_1776

let us begin

The last one is my new favorite, which I have yet to paint. Please let my know if you would like to make it yours!  stacyvanegtern.etsy.com

What are words that lift and inspire you? How will you use them to make your day happier?

All the best,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

